A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration of virar

Administration of Virar

Administration of Virar

Virar city is the part of the Mumbai metropolitan region. It falls under the jurisdiction of the VVMC (Vasai –Virar Municipal Corporation) formed newly. The city comes under the Nalla Sopara constituency for Maharashtrian Legislative Assembly elections. While for Lok Sabha elections, Virar falls under the Palghar constituency. The ruling party Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi (BVA) has shown its dominance for all the three seats. Out of a total of 89 seats the Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi has won about 55 seats.

Shri Rajeev Patil, who was the ex – President of the preceding Virar Municipal Council was selected as the first Mayor of the city. Vasai – Virar Municipal Council is headed by the municipal commissioner, IAS officer, who has the executive powers of the house. A quinquennial election elects the Corporators to power who further make sure that their constituencies take the basic infrastructure at the first place.

Vasai – Virar is the fifth largest city in Maharashtra and is located in Thane district at a distance of about 50 km to the north of Mumbai. Vasai – Virar City Municipal Corporation, VVMC is the public body which is responsible for governing the Vasai – Virar town areas and villages. This municipal corporation was formed on July 3rd, 2009. There are two government bodies under the Vasai – Virar town namely the Vasai – Virar City Municipal Corporation and Grampanchayat. VVMC consist of 4 municipal councils and 53 Gram Panchayats.

Administrative Departments in Vasai- Virar Region

State Election Commission: 2023437
Collectors Office (Thane): 25343636
Zila Adhikari (Thane): 5344041, 25345110
CEO (Zila Parishad, Thane): 5332796
P.W.D: 2332871
Commissioner (Konkan Division): 27570500
State Anti Corruption Bureau: 24921212, 24922618
CIDCO: 2390486, 2390487
Income Tax: 2403002
Sales Tax (Nallasopara): 2403002
Central Excise Thane II (Vasai West): 2336743
Dy. Registrar: 2322861
The Thane District Co-Operative Hsg. Federation Ltd: 25332286, 25363277
Rationing Cards, Regional Talati and Tehsildars Office: 2322007
Passport (Regional Office Thane): 25349008
MTDC: 22027784
Vasai – Virar Mahangarpalika: 0250 – 2502274

Civic Administration

Vasai – Virar town is governed by two government bodies namely the VVMC (Vasai – Virar Municipal Corporation) and Grampanchayat.

Vasai – Virar Municipal Corporation

It was formed on 3rd July 2009 and is headed by the municipal commissioner who is an IAS Officer and holds all the executive powers. Various facilities for which the virar municipal corporation is responsible are as follows:
  • Public Health and Hospitals,
  • Transportation,
  • Security,
  • Lighthouses,
  • Street Lighting,
  • Cemeteries and Crematoriums,
  • Removal of Encroachments,
  • Maintenance of Parks and Open Spaces,
  • Markets, Shops and Establishments,
  • Sewage Treatment and Disposal,
  • Registering of Births and Deaths,
  • Garbage Disposal and Street Cleanliness,
  • Aiding in prevention of epidemic outbreaks through mass production of medicines at the Haffkine institute.


There are 53 Grampanchayats under VVMC.

Vasai Virar Municipal Corporation

Address: Opposite Savitribhai Phule Market,
Near Virar East Police Station,
Virar East,
Thane – 401305
Tel: + (91) – 250 – 2525106, 2525105, 2529888, 2529890
Fax: + (91) – 250 – 2529889

Towns and Villages under VVMC

There are four towns and 53 villages falling under the Vasai - Virar Municipal Corporation. All of them have been listed below:

Towns: Virar, Nallasopara, Navghar – Manickpur, Vasai

Villages: Agashi, Bapne, Bhuigaon (BU), Bhuigaon (KH), Bilalpada, Bolinj, Chandansar, Chandeep,
Chikhal Dongare, Chinchoti, Chobare, Dahisar, Dhaniv, Deodal, Gass, Gaskopari, Giriz, Gokhiware, Juchandra, Kaman, Kane,  Khardi, Karmale, Kasrali, Kashid Kopar, Kaular (BU), Kaular (KH), Kiravli, Kofrad, Kolhi, Koshimbe, Mandvi, Mardes, Mulgaon, Naigaon, Nale, Navale, Nirmal, Pelhar,
Rajwali, Rajodi, Saloli, Sandor, Sasunavghar, Sativali, Shirgaon, Shirshad, Umela, Umrale, Vadavli,
Vagholi, Vatar, Waliv.

Gram Panchayat and Nagarparishad

Shirgaon: 0250 – 2502301
Satpala: 0250 – 2588434
Chikhaldongri: 0250 – 2502502
Arnala: 0250 – 2587438
Agashi: 0250 – 2587350
Bolinj: 0250 – 2502102
Bhatane: 0250 – 2570054
Nale: 0250 – 2588360
Parol: 0250 – 2570002
Kophrad: 0250 – 2588965
Kaner: 0250 – 2571048

Virar is located in the Northern suburb of the Mumbai city and is therefore a beautiful picnic spot. It is situated at a distance of about 50 km to the North of Mumbai. This city is a part of the metropolitan region of Mumbai and comes under the jurisdiction of the Vasai – Virar Municipal Corporation popularly known as VVMC. It is the fifth largest city in the state of Maharashtra located in district Thane.  Some of the important contact numbers of Virar administration are listed below:

Administration Vasai – Virar Region
Tahesiladar Office
Address: Vasai Gaon
Tel: 2322007

Law Courts: District Civil Court:
Location: Thane

Vasai Session Court: Vasai Gaon
Tel: 2324224

Vasai Virar Shahar Mahanagar Palika
Virar Division:
Corporator/ Counsilor:
Ashok Rankhambe
Address: Virar East
Tel: 2525101

Shri Ganesh Pimple
Vasai Panchayat Samiti:
Tel: 2322042/ 4237/ 4258

State Govt Tourist Offices: MTDC: Tel: 22027784

Fire Brigade: Virar Region
Tel: 2502274

Police & RTO: Virar Region
Tel: 2528222

There are two Government bodies working in Vasai – Virar region namely Vasai – Virar Municipal Corporation and Gram Panchayats. Gram Panchayats in Vasai – Virar region count 53 in numbers and have been listed below.

List of Gram Panchayats in Vasai - Virar Municipality Corporation

Arnala: Tel: 2587438
Arnala Fort: Tel: 2587461
Agashi: Tel: 2587350
Bapane: Tel: 2200748
Bhuigaon: Tel: 2470273
Bhuigaon Khu: Tel: 2470273
Bolinj: Tel: 2502102
Bhatane: Tel: 2570054
Billalpada: Tel: 2455677
Chandansar: Tel: 2502276
Chandrapada: Tel: 2200138
Chikhaldongri: Tel: 2502502
Chinchoti: Tel: 2210219
Chobare: Tel: 2322602
Chandip: Tel: 2571261
Dhaniv: Tel: 2455227
Dahisar: Tel: 2571008
Giriz: Tel: 2322661
Gokhivare: Tel: 2455324
Gass: Tel: 2402750
Juchandra: Tel: 2200025
Kophrad: Tel: 2588965
Karadi: Tel: 2322676
Kaular: Tel: 2324298
Kaular Khu: Tel: 2322437
Kirwali: Tel: 2322622
Kaner: Tel: 2571048
Kalamb: Tel: 2470238
Kashidkopar: Tel: 2571015
Kaman: Tel: 2210156
Kolhi: Tel: 2210219
Khanowde: Tel: 2371087
Mardes: Tel: 2470276
Mede: Tel: 261570
Mulgaon: Tel: 2324899
Maljipada: Tel: 2230003
Nale: Tel: 2588360
Navale: Tel: 2470223
Naigaon: Tel: 2300741
Pelhar: Tel: 2455071
Parol: Tel: 2570002
Poman: Tel: 2210256
Panju: Tel: 2322291
Pajavli: Tel: 2200112
Saloli: Tel: 2324533
Sandor: Tel: 2322676
Satpala: Tel: 2588434
Sativali: Tel: 2455461
Shirgaon: Tel: 2502301
Shivansai: Tel: 2571043
Saiwan: Tel: 2251076
Sasunavghar: Tel: 223002
Sakhwar: Tel: 2571089
Umela: Tel: 2324854
Umarale: Tel: 2405180
Wattar: Tel: 2587714
Wagholi: Tel: 2470225
Wadhavli: Tel: 2322909
Waliv: Tel: 2455076

You may also like to visit

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries